Rwanda announces global visa free regime starting next year

As part of the resolutions from a recent Rwandan cabinet meeting, travelers from across the globe will receive a 30-day free Visa upon arrival in Kigali.

The communique released by the Directorate of Immigration and Emigration states that citizens from around the world will enjoy 30 days of visa on arrival under the free visa regime that starts January 2018.

“In view of bilateral agreements, nationals of the following Countries may visit Rwanda without a visa for a period up to 90 days: Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, DRC, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Mauritius, Philippines, Senegal, Seychelles, Sao Tome and Principe and Singapore,” the statement reads in part

“EAC Partner states citizens shall be issued with 6 months’ visitors pass (renewable) upon arrival with no fee. Nationals of Australia, Germany, Israel, New Zealand, Sweden, United Kingdom, and United States of America will be issued with entry visa valid for a period up to 30 days and pay for a visa ($30) upon arrival without prior application,” it continues.

Also exempted from visa fees are citizens from COMESA member states




Reader's Comments