NRM MPs who voted against lifting of age limit asked to apologise; or face action

Sam Ibanda Mugabi

Sam Ibanda Mugabi

, Featured

The Leadership of the NRM Parliamentary Caucus has advised the 27 NRM rebel legislators who voted against the controversial age limit bill 2017 apologize to the country or else face the disciplinary committee.

On December 20, parliament passed the age limit bill as  317 MPs voted in favour of the bill whereas 97 were against and these included some legislators from the ruling party.

However, the Vice Chairperson of the NRM Parliamentary Caucus, Solomon Silwany says the decision made by the 27 NRM rebel legislators was uncalled for and failure to apologise will face the disciplinary committee of caucus.

Following the resumption of the work of the August house after the Christmas and end of year recess, Silwany said the increasing indiscipline amongst members of the caucus will not be tolerated.

He urged those who voted against the Magyezi bill to apologise to the party leadership before facing the wrath of the party caucus. .

Silwanyi told the Nile Post that the party parliamentary caucus leadership is set to meet this week to the decide the fate of these ‘rebel’ legislators.

But when contacted , some of the rebel Mp’s including John Baptist Nambeshe( Manjiya County) and Patrick Nsamba (Kasanda North) vowed to maintain their earlier stand and reiterated they will not appear before the caucus.

Meanwhile the Deputy Speaker Jacob Oulanya has directed three out of the 6 suspended legislators to resumes their representation role on Wednesdays.

The three MPs that are to return on Wednesday are; Gerald Karuhanga(Ntungamo municipality), Ssemujju Nganda (Kira Municipality) and Anthony Akol (Kilak south).
Last month, the speaker of parliament Rebecca Kadaga suspended six legislators for orchestrating chaos on the floor of the August house as the age limit debate raged on.

  • 1.1K