Trade ministry shuns parliament committee as row deepens

Trade ministry shuns parliament committee as row deepens
No-show: The empty committee boardroom

Top officials from the Ministry of Trade and Industry did not show for Wednesday's meeting with the parliamentary Committee on Trade as the row over responsibility hit the seabed.

The three Trade minister of Francis Mwebesa, Harriet Ntabaazi, and David Bahati have all shunned the Mwine Mpaka-led trade committee today.

The Nile Post understands the ministers sent the junior officials who were dismissed by the committee.

The Ministry of Trade and their Permanent Secretary Geraldine Ssaali have been at loggerheads with the Committee on Trade in the recent past after the legislators accused the public officials of undermining recommendations on corruption scandals at the ministry.

The issues arose following the renovation of the Farmers House, which is the seat of the ministry.

Today, the Trade ministers were expected to present their Ministerial and Budget Estimates for the 2024/25 financial year.


This is a developing story...

Reader's Comments