Moses Waiswa beats Allan Okello to Male footballer of the year award

Kenneth Kazibwe

Kenneth Kazibwe

, Sports

Kitende based Vipers Sports Club midfielder, Moses Waiswa on Friday evening beat KCCA FC’s Allan Okello and Onduparaka’s Vianey Ssekajugo to be crowned male footballer of the year in the 2018 Airtel FUFA awards.

The awards held at Speke Resort in Munyonyo on Friday evening saw Waiswa, who guided Vipers’ to clinch the Uganda Premier League title appreciated for his efforts during  the entire 2017/ 2018 season  that also  saw him earn a place in the Cranes team.

Despite guiding his team to the league title, Waiswa’s recent spectacular performance in the middle of the pack while on national duty that saw him being part of the team that qualified for the 2019 Afcon finals could have had increased his chances to beat Okello who was instrumental in KCCA’s CAF Champions League journey.

On the other side, despite guiding Buganda region to lifting the FUFA Drum tournament and his recent form, Vianey Ssekajugo was short of credentials to win the male footballer of the year gong.

Speaking shortly after being crowned, Waiswa applauded his coaches and fellow players for the encouragement they gave him and enabled him put up good performance last season.

“Returning from Sweden back home was not an easy decision but now is the time to set new targets in my life,” Waiswa said.

In other awards, KCCA FC gaffer, Mike Mutebi beat departed former Vipers coach Miguel Da Costa to win the coach of the year award whereas UCU and Crested Cranes’ Ruth Aturo was crowned female player of the year.

Allan Okello was voted fans local favourite player of the year.

Speaking at the function, FUFA president Moses Magogo said the awards are a big step towards development and professionalization of the game of football in Uganda.

“Such awards are good to help put up competition among players to work better and this takes the game of football forward,”Magogo said.

He applauded President Museveni for his efforts in the development of the game in the country saying he has put in place an enabling environment for football to thrive.

“Whatever we are achieving, you never know we could not have achieved it if it was not for the enabling environment. On top of that government has given us money that has helped propel the game to another level.”

2018 Airtel FUFA Awards winners in full

Male player of the year – Moses Waiswa

Female Player of the year – Ruth Aturo

Coach of the year –  Mike Mutebi

Referee of the year – Brian Miiro

Most promising player- Mustafa Kiiza

Upcoming referee of the year – Shamirah Nabukenya

Beach soccer player of the year – Meddie Kibirige

Fans favourite player of the year – Denis Onyango

Fans local favourite player of the year- Allan Okello

Fair play award of the year – Maroons FC

Fan of the year – Khasim Kyazze

Big League Player of the Year – Noel Nasasira

Presidential award winner- Dr. Lawrence Mulindwa

Team of the year

Samson Kirya (G.K), Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, Henry Katongole, Timothy  Awany, Nicholas Kasozi, Viane Ssekajugo, Moses Waiswa, Dan Sserunkuma, Okello Allan, Nelson Senkatuuka.




  • 158