New Hoima and Kaabong MPs swear into office

News -->

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has been buoyed by two additions to its numbers in Parliament, with Harriet Businge (NRM, Hoima) and Christine Nakwang (NRM, Kaabong) taking oath of office.

The ceremony presided over by the Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga, during plenary on Wednesday, 2 October 2019, was the climax of intense political jostling for the position between the NRM and the opposition Forum for Democratic Change (FDC).

For MP Nakwang, her main rival, FDC’s Judith Nalibe Adyaka pulled out of the race in a letter to the Electoral Commission (EC), citing financial frustration and accusing her party of neglect.

The EC, just like FDC, rejected her decision to jump out of the race, paving the way for her resounding defeat.

MP Businge had to endure a dust-raising political competition with FDC’s Asinansi Nyakato, who was backed by all opposition formations.

Ms Businge edged over Ms Nyakato with 4,512 votes, although the Opposition left the race claiming foul play.

The Minister for General Duties in the Office of the Prime Minister, Mary Karooro Okurut, mobbed by jubilant MPs and ecstatic supporters in the public gallery, to welcome the latest entrants who now bring the number of MPs to 461.

MP Nakwang is no stranger in Parliament, having served as MP for a year, before being booted out.

“Although you [MP Nakwang] have been here before, I welcome you and wish you well,” said Speaker Kadaga.

Kadaga welcomed them to the House, handing them copies of the Constitution, the Rules of Procedure and the Directory of the 10th Parliament.

Reader's Comments