Basena names Cranes squad for Cecafa challenge cup

Uganda Cranes interim coach, Moses Basena, yesterday named a 26-man squad to start training on Wednesday ahead of the 2017 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup.

The regional Championship to be hosted in the Kenyan towns of Kakamega, Kisumu and Nakuru will commence on December 3-17th.

Basena included only one foreign based player Murshid Juuko who features for Tanzanian Premier League side, Simba SC.

Juuko was part of the Cranes team at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) in Gabon.

Inform strikers Nelson Senkatuka who features for Bright Stars FC and Proline's Daniel Isiagi have also been called to the team.

Senkatuka lead the Azam Uganda Premier League scoring table with six goals, while Isiagi has four.

The defending champions Uganda are in Group B alongside guest side Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Burundi and South Sudan.

The Cranes will will open their campaign against the COSAFA defending champions Zimbabwe on December 4th.

Nicholas Musonye, the Secretary general of the Council for East and Central African Football Associations (Cecafa), said they have made arrangements to have a successful tournament.

Cecafa members will also have the ordinary general Assembly and a symposium to chart the way forward for the zone on December 2.

Uganda Cranes squad 

Goalkeepers: Isma Watenga (Vipers SC), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA FC), Ikara Tom (Kirinya Jinja SS)

Defenders: Nicholas Wadada (Vipers SC), Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa), Isaac Muleme (KCCA FC), Aggrey Madoi (Police FC), Murushid Juuko (Simba, Tanzania), Timothy Awanyi (KCCA FC), Savio Kabugo (Proline FC), Bernard Muwanga (SC Villa)

Midfeilder: Tom Masiko (Vipers SC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Stephen Mugisha (Police FC), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Paul Mucureezi (KCCA FC), Allan Kateregga (KCCA FC), Allan Kyambadde (SC Villa)

Strikers: Nelson Senkatuka  (Bright Stars  FC), Derrick Nsibambi (KCCA FC), Hood Kaweesa (Police FC), Seif Batte Seif (Bright Stars FC), Juma Saddam (KCCA FC), Daniel Isiagi (Proline FC), Methodious Basse (Mbarara City FC).

Reader's Comments