Cabinet to be sworn in today


The newly appointed and duly approved members of cabinet will later today be sworn in at a function to be held at the Kololo Independence grounds.

The new ministers will be sworn in a “scientific” ceremony as a way of avoiding the spread of Coronavirus and to this end, all participants, including journalists to cover the ceremony have been tested for Coronavirus and only those who test positive will be allowed to access the venue.

President Museveni is also expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

However, the new Minister for Presidency, Milly Babalanda is set to miss the swearing-in ceremony after getting in contact with a Covid-19 patient.

“This is to inform the general public that the Minister in charge of the Presidency, Hon Babirye Milly Babalanda is under quarantine having been in contact with a Covid-19 patient. Accordingly, she will be in isolation for some period as advised by the doctors,” a statement by the deputy Press Secretary in the Office of the President, Faruk  Kirundi said.

However, at today’s swearing-in ceremony, Alice Kaboyo who was appointed the State Minister for Luweero Triangle will not attend after the Appointments Committee of Parliament rejected her appointment.

Kaboyo’s appointment was rejected after the committee found out that she had earlier in 2012 pleaded guilty to of abuse of office in the Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI) case.

She will therefore not appear at Kololo for swearing-in.

Others are John Mulimba and Muruli Mukasa who are yet to be vetted since they were sick during the time of the vetting process.


Reader's Comments