UBL’s Jackie Tahakanizibwa elected Uganda Alcohol Industry Association chairperson

Business -->
UBL’s Jackie Tahakanizibwa elected Uganda Alcohol Industry Association chairperson
Jackie Tahakanizibwa.

Uganda Breweries Limited (UBL) represented by their Corporate Relations, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs Manager Jackie Tahakanizibwa has been elected to chair the Uganda Alcohol Industry Association (UAIA) for three years.

This was during the 2024 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the association that took place at Kati Kati Restaurant on Wednesday 6th March, 2024.

During the meeting, Tahakanizibwa was voted as the incoming Chairperson of the association to be deputized by Emmanuel Njuki, the Legal and Corporate Affairs Head at Nile Breweries Limited (NBL).

Before that, Tahakanizibwa had been serving the association as Secretary General when the Chairperson and Vice were Onapito Ekomoloit and Juliana Kagwa of UBL and NBL respectively.

In her acceptance speech, Tahakanizibwa pledged to work with government and relevant stakeholders to grow the sector and preserve the interests of members while directly contributing to the growth of the economy as they have always been doing.

“My priority areas are; drive positive behavior among Ugandans by pushing responsible drinking initiatives, support the fight against illicit alcohol trade, advocate for a conducive business environment and improve the industry perception.”

The AGM resolved to have a patron who will provide guidance to the association and NBL Board Chairman Onapito Ekomoloit was unanimously seconded to that position – making him the inaugural UAIA Patron.

Denis Ainebyoona, the acting  Commissioner Industry at the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives was the guest of honor representing David Bahati – the line minister.

The inister reiterated his commitment to supporting the sector and confirmed that UAIA is a recognized institution and its formation was endorsed by the Ministry.

He further pledged that the ministry is planning to revive the licensing act to further ease the operations of businesses.

He added that the new leadership has a big task of steering the institution especially during this time when there are discussions of the proposed alcohol bill.

Others elected include M.S Reddy as the treasurer, Atuhaire Yonah Blair as general secretary .

The board members include Patrick Pillay, Micah Apuuli and Ved Prakash Singh.



Reader's Comments