Cranes players Onyango, Sserunkuuma nominated for African players of the year awards


Two Uganda Cranes players including; shot stopper Denis Onyango and striker Geofrey Sserunkuuma, have been nominated for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) awards.

The Cranes captain who plies his trade for South African giants Mamelodi Sundowns has been shortlisted twice, both in the overall African footballer of the year and the Africa- based footballer of the year awards.

Onyango is the reigning African player of the year based in Africa following illustrious season last year that saw his team win the CAF champions league.

In this year’s awards, Onyango is facing stiff competition for the overall African player of the year award from Egypt and Liverpool player Muhammad Salah, Victor Moses(Nigeria and Chelsea),Pierre Emerick Aubameyang(Gabon and Dortmund),Eric Bailly(Ivory Coast and Manchester United).

Onyango also guided Uganda to the African Nations Cup finals in Gabon following a 39 year wait.

Others on the 30 man list of those nominated for the overall African footballer of the year include; Christian Bassogog(Cameroon and Henan Jianye),Bwana Samata(Tanzania and Genk),Junior Kabananga(DR.Congo and Astana) and veteran goalkeeper Essam El- Hadary from Egypt among others.

Meanwhile in the African player of the year based on the continent category, Onyango will battle with fellow Uganda Cranes player and former KCCA FC striker Geofrey Sserunkuuma who had an illustrious season.

Sserunkuuma was named the Most Valuable Player in the Uganda Premier League last season after guiding his team to both the league and Uganda Cup having scored over 30 goals.

Others battling for the African player of the year based in Africa award include Egypt’s Ahmed Fathi who also plays for Al Ahly, Aristide Bance(Burkina Faso and Al Masry) and Percy Tau (South Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns).

Head coaches for national teams, members of the CAF Technical Development Committee and a selected panel of media experts will take part in the voting and the winners will be announced in January in Accra Ghana, according to the continental football governing body, CAF.

Reader's Comments