Electoral commission sets date for the local council elections

Nile Post News

Nile Post News

, News


The Electoral Commission has set 10 July 2018 as the date for the LC 1 elections after receiving an additional 6.2 billion shillings from government.

In a press conference addressed by the chairperson Electoral Commission Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi announced the new date for the elections and the procedures of the election.

The Commission has appointed Monday, 25th June 2018 as the cut-off date for registration of voters in all villages. This will be followed by a display of the Village Residents’ Register for a period of two days, from 26th to 27th June 2018, to enable residents check the accuracy of their particulars.

The program will run in 60,801 villages across Uganda

The nomination of candidates for Village LC I Chairperson will be conducted on 4th and 5th July, followed by campaigns from 6th to 9th July and polling on Tuesday 10th July 2018.

This comes after the elections were cancelled a day before they could take place due to a court injunction.

Byabakama also noted that in order to address the issue of participation of students and civil servants, EC has requested for the declaration of 10 July as a public holiday to allow them participate.

The commission has also received an additional 6.2 billion shillings to facilitate the electoral process. This adds to the 15.9 billion shillings which the commission received last year and by the time of the court order it had spent 6 billion.

The electoral process will include the registration of voters in the 1,000 newly created villages.

According to the electoral calendar;

  • Polling for elections of Member of Parliament and Local Government Councils in new Municipalities which include Sheema, Bugiri, Apac,Kotido,Nebbi shall take place on Thursday 19th July2018 at all polling stations in the respective Municipalities.

Following the craving of Butebo district off Pallisa district, elections to fill in the newly created vacancies will take place on 28 June 2018.

The elective positions to be filled are:

a)Member of Parliament

b)District Councillor

c)District Women Councillor


Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage and secret ballot and shall start at 7:00am, and close at 4:00pm

The Rukungiri district woman Member of Parliament elections will be conducted on the 31 May 2018.

Though Elizabeth Rwakitonera, one of the contestants in the Rukungiri by election has dropped out. Leaving five contestants in the race.

  • Workers councilliors on 29th May,2018
  • Sub counties and towns 17 July,2018
  • Municipalities Thursday 19th July,2018