Uganda Rugby 7s draw Wales, Fiji and Sri Lanka in commonwealth games

Aisha Nassanga

Aisha Nassanga

, News

The Rugby sevens draw that took place on Thursday at Robina Stadium in Gold Coast, Australia saw the Uganda National Rugby Sevens draw Olympic gold medalists Fiji in Pool D.

Wales, Fiji and Sri Lanka complete the line up in Pool D

South Africa were drawn in Pool A alongside Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Malaysia for the 2018 Commonwealth Games on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Pool B termed as the “group of death” will have Australia joined by Samoa, England and Jamaica.

The New Zealand men’s seven were handed a relatively straightforward pool for April’s Commonwealth Games as they chase a fifth gold medal on the Gold Coast. The Kiwis were placed in Pool C and will contend with East African side Kenya, Zambia and Canada.

The sevens event takes place between April 13-15 at the Robina Stadium.

Men’s pools for 2018 Commonwealth Games:

Pool A

South Africa, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia

Pool B

England, Australia, Samoa, Jamaica

Pool C

New Zealand, Canada, Kenya, Zambia

Pool D

Fiji, Wales, Uganda, Sri Lanka



  • 101