VIDEO: Museveni is bewitched; rebel MPs say as they are booted from caucus

Nelson Bwire Kapo

Nelson Bwire Kapo

, Politics

Ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party rebel MPs who have been kicked out of the ongoing caucus at parliament, have said the party chairperson who also doubles as the President of Uganda is bewitched.

Speaking to journalists outside parliament after they were booted, Lwemiyaga MP Theodore Ssekikubo said Museveni has been bewitched by other legislators.

“We have known Museveni to be tolerant, but what they are doing is treacherous to the party and nation, we are all members of the NRM at all levels. President Museveni is bewitched, a clique that has surrounded him is misleading him, “Ssekikubo said.

He narrated that as the caucus was beginning, the party chief whip, Ruth Nankabirwa expressed dismay to the president about the rebel MPs, she then proceeded to read names of those she insisted should be kicked out of the caucus.

The other legislators also adopted a stand that rebel MPs should declare whether they are with the party or not.

“We said yes we are NRM caucus members but we wrote to president to raise our concerns and that letter was received by himself. We said since when has cabinet run away from its duty and left the Bill to a back bencher?” Ssekikubo said.

“I said that now that president is here, let him tell us we can find a transition. The President said he received our petition and he will answer. But in the meantime those opposed must leave,” Ssekikubo narrates.

Accordingly, president Museveni ordered the MPs to leave because he fears they will reveal to the public what had transpired in the caucus.

“I think they are planning to loot this country, they have chased us from the caucus, that is violating the constitution of the party. So now they have violated each constitution,” Ssekikubo said.

The ejected MPs are Theodore Ssekikubo (Lwemiyaga County), Barnabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga West), John Baptist Nambeshe (Manjiya County), Gaffa Mbwatekamwa (Kasambya County), Patrick Nsamba (Kassanda County), Sylvia Rwabwogo (Kabarole District) and Acidiri James (Maracha East).

  • 2.1K